The Hungry Games!

Welcome! When we started talking about this blog, I told Hannah I wanted to post some fun recipes I had discovered or created myself. These will all be fairly inexpensive and usually VERY simple. A note about most of my recipes- they tend to involve some form of cheese and bread. I believe cheese and bread can go with almost every meal. Or, if you’re lucky- be a meal in and of itself. Is it the healthiest combo? No. Is it the most delicious? I say YES!

I would also be remiss if I didn’t mention SOMETHING about the Hunger Games. Hannah and I are both huge fans and already have our tickets for when the movie opens this weekend.

Now, I usually run away from the giant tween franchises*, but I had heard amazing things about these books so I decided to give them a try.

I blazed through all of them in about a week. For those of you who haven’t read them, here is my very weak synopsis of the first book. This is basically the summary I gave to my Mom to try and convince her to see the movie.  If a movie can stay within these boundaries, it is almost certain she will enjoy it.

–        It is a futuristic, sci-fi fantasy series BUT there are no werewolves, vampires or large buckets of teenage angst.

–       Amazing costumes! Make up! Hooray!

–       There is a lot of action, and you might cry (if you have a heart).

I am sure you can garner the other details from the trailer…

http://hungergamesmovie.org/category/hunger-games-trailer/

We decided it would be fun to come up with recipes in honor of this wonderful series!  If you’re feeling brave, you may even want to stash a few of these items in your over-sized bag to enjoy during the movie. I know theaters generally frown upon this, but I once snuck two Tupperware containers full of grilled chicken and potatoes, and a large thermos of juice into a showing of “The Time Traveler’s Wife”, so who am I to judge?

Now, on with the recipes! They are semi-based on the book, but you have to read to understand the references. I am not going to be doing that for you. 

Please feel free to comment and let us know what you think of the movie and/or the food! **

 * This might be a lie. I may or may not have seen the last three Twilight films at midnight screenings the day they came out.

** Only positive comments regarding the recipes, please. As far as the movie, say what you will. I didn’t have anything to do with the production of it, although it looks amazing!

Baguette with Goat Cheese and Basil

This one pretty much speaks for itself.

Ingredients:

Baquette (or really any loaf of bread)

Goat cheese

Basil leaves

Blackberry Jam*

Directions:

Cut two large slices of bread and toast the halves in the oven for a few minutes.

Spread on the goat cheese and place the basil leaves on top!

*If you’re feeling bold you might want to try adding some homemade blackberry jam.

2 cups blackberries

Juice of ½ lemon

½ cup sugar

Crush blackberries with a spoon

Heat ingredients in a saucepan over high heat for about 5 minutes

Stir to dissolve the sugar

Reduce heat, cook for additional 15 minutes

Skim off the foam and pour into a bowl/jar and cool

Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits

Ingredients:

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon cream of tartar

2 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons slightly melted margarine/butter

1 cup milk

*I shredded some Monterey Jack and Cheddar cheese because I LOVE cheese and bread. Always.

The original recipe called for shortening and more butter, but I opted out of those.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees

Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl

Add the cheese and mix

Stir in butter and milk until moistened

Drop the batter on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes.


Let cool and enjoy! These are also fantastic with the aforementioned blackberry jam.

Goat Cheese, Apple Tarts with Walnuts

Ingredients:

Crust:

3 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup shortening

2 tablespoons sugar

2 eggs, beaten

2 teaspoon distilled white vinegar

1 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons water

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Combine the flour, sugar and salt into a bowl

Add the softening and cut into little bits with a pastry blender

Mix together the beaten eggs, vinegar and water in a larger bowl

Gradually add the flour mixture to the egg mixture and whisk together

Form the dough into a ball and wrap in plastic wrap. Chill the dough while you work on the other ingredients.

Apple filling:

2 cups diced apples

1/4 cup sugar

3 tablespoons cornstarch

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

Pinch of nutmeg

1 3/4 cups of water

Directions:

Combine sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt and mix into pot with water

Add the apples, bring to a boil and cook for 3-5 minutes, stirring constantly

Lower heat, cover and simmer for 10-12 minutes

Goat Cheese Filling:

5 oz. goat cheese

1/3 cup sour cream

4 tablespoons sugar

3 tablespoons honey

1 egg

Directions:

Mix goat cheese, sour cream, sugar and honey in a bowl

Add egg and mix until creamy

Putting it all together!

Take your dough out of the fridge and form into 10- 12 balls

Roll out your dough balls on a floured surface

Place them into the muffin/tartlet pan and fold sides to make a crust

Beat together one egg and 1 teaspoon cream 

Brush mixture lightly over crusts

Fill the crusts 1/2 with goat cheese filling. Bake for 15 minutes

Remove from oven and add apple filling and top with walnuts. Bake for 20 more minutes

Let the tarts cool a bit, but eat while they are still warm. These are not so tasty when cold.

I realize basing recipes off of a teen book series brings my dork level to an all-time high, but I am OK with that. Hannah and I may have some more exciting news regarding the Hunger Games tomorrow as well as a GIVE AWAY! Free things!! Until then, enjoy these treats and Happy Thursday!

2 thoughts on “The Hungry Games!

    • Thanks from Ashley! Since I (Hannah) had nothing to do with the glorious goat cheese and bread creation, I’ll just say that I too am going to be at a midnight screening tonight! With bells on, of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

