Baby Goats and Chocolate Chip Cookies

Our neighbors Seth and Adam have had chickens since we moved in next door, which we thought was pretty awesome since we live in the middle of West Hollywood, but they recently added 2 baby goats (aka kids) to their family, which is WAY awesomer.  And yes I’m aware that’s not a word and I sound like a pre-schooler right now, but I can’t help it!  We have baby goats next door!  And we get to play with them!

Yesterday afternoon after church, my roommates Jessie and Janelle, our friend Christina and I decided to officially go meet the goats.  It was a sunny (if extremely windy) Sunday afternoon, I had finished most of my cleaning, laundry, grocery shopping, etc for the weekend, and I had a few minutes to kill before I had to leave for a friend’s Game of Thrones party that evening.  May I introduce to you, Vincent (Vinnie) and Trixie Van Gogh, the baby goats that live next door:

Here’s Christina getting kisses from Vinnie:

And here’s Vinnie giving some love to Jessie so she doesn’t feel left out:

After we’d had our fill of Vinnie and Trixie Van Gogh, Seth accompanied us back to our place and joined the girls for a jam sesh of sorts, singing Sixpence None The Richer’s “Kiss Me,” Gavin DeGraw’s “Not Over You” and a couple of classic Switchfoot tunes while I made cookies in the kitchen.

Which brings me to the BEST, most EPIC chocolate chip cookies I have ever made!  I recently discovered Joy The Baker, and have absolutely no idea how I survived for so long without her.  Seriously, her blog is a must for anyone out there who likes to make yummy baked goods.  I saw her recipe for Salty Sesame and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies and knew I had to try it immediately (cookies with soy sauce and sesame seeds??  I’m in!).  I gathered all of the ingredients and made a late night batch on Saturday, and boy were they a hit!  The cookie dough was hands down the best cookie dough I’ve ever tasted.  Jessie agreed.  Not only that, but the warm cookies were divine… the perfect combination of salty and sweet.  Jessie couldn’t stop eating them, which is a huge deal, because she is currently on Kimberly Snyder’s Beauty Detox Diet, and has the most will power of anyone I know when it comes to food, and doesn’t cheat for just any old thing.  But she could not get enough of Joy The Baker’s warm-out-of-the-oven chocolate chip cookies.

Since they were such a hit, I decided to make a second batch on Sunday so everyone could get a taste of the delish dough:

and freshly baked finished product:

Oh, and they were a huge hit at the Game of Thrones party as well!!  Here’s the recipe, so you can impress all of your friends as much as I impressed mine yesterday. 🙂

Recipe: Salty Sesame and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m 100% positive that you’ll all love them as much as we did!  And if you don’t, well, I think there might be something wrong with your tastebuds.  I wouldn’t admit that to anyone.

Happy Monday!

-Hannah

3 thoughts on “Baby Goats and Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful
    & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and
    help others like you aided me.

Leave a Reply

