British Invasion: New Music You Should Know Now From The Other Side Of The Pond

Let’s keep this short and sweet and say what we all know to be true, shall we?  The Brits know how to do music.  They know how to do it really, really well.  They do pop, they do folk, they do rock.  Even that most American of styles, Bluegrass, has its roots in Irish and Scottish folk music.  Amongst the myriad of spectacular artists that Great Britain has bequeathed unto the world are The Beatles, Radiohead, Coldplay, and my personal favorite, Mumford & Sons.  And while there are a ton of great up-and-coming bands out there right now, I happen to think that two of the brightest stars are from the UK.

All of our readers know that I recently discovered my latest pop obsession, Foxes.  Well, she has a new song out called “White Coats” and I love it just as much as her previously released tracks, “Youth” and “Home.”  Here it is for your enjoyment:

 

My other recent obsession is an English band called Dry The River.  I have been jonesing for their album since I first heard the song “Weights & Measures” on KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic with Jason Bentley.  Last Saturday, I took a friend who had never heard of them before to see them at The Troubadour, and he quickly became a fan.  They were the opening band, but the crowd gave them soooo much more love than they did the headliners (who shall remain unnamed).  In fact, my friend and I left a few songs into the headliner’s set.  You know a band is destined for greatness when 1) their live show is better than their already fantastic record, and 2) they are better than the headlining band.  Dry The River’s album, Shallow Bed, is out on April 17th.

-Hannah

Leave a Reply

