Ode to Moms

In honor of Mother’s Day, Hannah and I would like to dedicate a few posts to our dear moms. We both are blessed with mothers who encourage, support and love us unconditionally. I, for one, was not always an easy child. I MAY have had a deep love for sarcasm and professional arguing. Lovely combo when you’re a teenager. Thankfully, she stuck around through those years and I am all the better for it.

Here is a recent photo of my Mom and I:

I think it describes our relationship pretty well.

I want to start with my FAVORITE recipe of hers- the coconut cream pie. It’s the BEST dessert and I absolutely request it every time I go home to Texas for a visit. I don’t have any photos unfortunately- but just picture a flaky warm crust, sweet filling and mountain-high meringue lightly toasted, sprinkled with coconut flakes. Hungry? Thought so.

Below is the recipe! I have made this before on my own and it took me a couple of tries to get it just right. I prefer mine a little “primed” (refrigerated for a day or so) as opposed to right out of the oven.

PIE CRUST

 For one single-crust pie

1 ½      cups sifted all-purpose flour

½         teaspoon salt

½ c      up of shortening

4 to 5   tablespoons cold water

Sift flour and salt together; cut in shortening with pastry blender till pieces are the size of small peas.  Sprinkle 1 tablespoon water over part of the mixture.  Gently toss with fork; push to side of bowl.  Repeat till all is moistened.  Form into a ball.  Flatten on lightly floured surface by pressing with edge of hand 3 times across in both directions.  Roll from center to edge till 1/8 inch think.

 Fit pastry into pie plate; trim ½ to 1 inch beyond edge; fold under and flute edge by pressing dough with forefinger against wedge made of finger and thumb of other hand.  Prick bottom and sides well with fork.  (If filling and crust are baked together, do not prick.)  Bake at 450⁰ for 10 to 12 minutes or till golden.

 


MERINGUE

 For one 9-inch pie:

3          egg whites

½         teaspoon vanilla

¼         teaspoon cream of tartar

6          tablespoons sugar

Beat egg white with vanilla and cream of tartar until soft peaks form.  Gradually add sugar, beating till stiff and glossy peaks form and all sugar is dissolved.  Spread meringue over hot filling, sealing to edge of pastry.  (For coconut pie, sprinkle coconut over meringue.)  Bake at 350⁰ for 12 to 15 minutes or till meringue is golden.  Cool.

 

VANILLA CREAM PIE

¾         cup sugar

1/3       cup all-purpose flour or

            3 tablespoons cornstarch

¼         teaspoon salt

2          cups milk

3          slightly beaten egg yolks

2          tablespoons butter

1          teaspoon vanilla

Coconut

1          9-inch baked pastry shell

In saucepan, combine sugar, flour and salt; gradually stir in milk.  Cook and stir over medium heat till bubbly.  Cook and stir 2 minutes.  Remove from heat.

Stir small amount hot mixture into yolks, immediately return to hot mixture; cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat.  Add butter and vanilla and coconut.  Pour into cooled baked pastry shell.  Spread meringue atop pie and bake at 350⁰ for 12 to 15 minutes.  Cool.

ENJOY!!

I also asked my Mom what her favorite memory was of us together. This is what she sent me. You can truly hear her tone in this story, so I am not going to paraphrase.

“From the time you were three years old you talked about being an ice skater.  If ice skating was on TV you were spell bound and could not be moved – even with candy!  (Another one of your favorite things!)  You begged for ice skating lessons and begged your brother to learn to ice skate so you could be partners.  He was, of course, appalled at the idea, and you cried for days.

Finally some friends of our friends heard about your love for ice skating.  They had a son who was an Olympic skater and decided to take the two of us on a “surprise”.  We headed to Dallas for an ice skating show with all of your favorite stars.  We had no idea where we were going until we actually got there.  You were glued to the edge of your seat and could not take your eyes off of all of the skaters, especially Nancy Kerrigan – your favorite.  After the show the folks suggested that we make a stop at the restroom before we headed home and you reluctantly left your seat still spellbound by the night.  To our surprise they were not taking us by the bathroom, but backstage to meet all of the ice skaters.  They thought you would love having your picture made with everyone.  As Nancy Kerrigan approached, you ran behind me and would not come out.  She was standing there waiting for a picture with you and you would not BUDGE!  You stayed behind me the whole time with me trying to pry you from around my legs.  You said your “hair” didn’t look good (you were eight!), you weren’t dressed right…you name it.  You would not show your face.  Then, as soon as we got in the car to go home you started crying and cried ALL night over the chance you had missed!  Really Ashley,…your hair????”

I also vividly remember this occasion and it was truly upsetting. Mainly the part about me asking my 13-year-old brother if he wanted to be my skating partner followed by his swift rejection.

WE COULD HAVE WON THE GOLD AT THE OLYMPICS, CHRIS! I AM SURE OF IT!

When I think about my Mom, I think of her very quick wit and dry sense of humor. I am so very grateful I was exposed to this at a young age. She is an AMAZING host and advice-giver. As my Dad says, “She is the wisest person I know.” I also think of “I Love Lucy” and large Diet Cokes from Sonic as she is the HUGEST fan of both.

We are very different in a lot of ways- but as I get older, we seem to grow closer. I hope that when I have kids (NOT ANY TIME SOON) that I can be as loving and patient as she was with my brother and I.

Thank you, Mom and Happy Mother’s Day!!


One thought on “Ode to Moms

  1. I love this! I’m going to add your mom’s recipe to my file. Coconut Cream Pie is your father-in-law’s favorite pie, too!

Leave a Reply

