Tunes On The Tube: October 23 – 29

Yesterday morning I had a conversation with my mom on the way to work that went a little something like this:

Me: “Mom, is it weird that I kind of wish I was in New York right now so I could hole up in my apartment and watch TV or movies or read books or something and not have to be in LA in the gazillionth week in a row of 85 degree weather???  And yes I know it’s a hurricane, but still.  They’re getting out of work and they have an excuse to stay inside all day.”

Mom: “It’s not weird, but there are a lot of people in the city being evacuated you know… you wouldn’t necessarily get to stay in your apartment.”

Me: “I know, but I still wish I was there.  I want something other than sun for once.”

Yes, I realize the power is going out everywhere and there are fires burning down houses in Queens and Sandy is a very real, very dangerous threat that is costing lives on the east coast.  And I also realize that chances are my power would be out if I was in NY and thus the whole notion of movies and TV being a draw is ridiculous.  I am constantly praying for the people affected by Sandy and I do not take the storm lightly, lest you think I have an image in my head that it’s all fun and games in NY right now.

I just can’t handle one more day of 80+ degrees WHEN IT’S ALMOST NOVEMBER.  I would love some weather.  Any weather.  Just something other than sun.  I mean seriously, people, when am I going to get to break out my sweaters and boots and scarves and warm layers?  I want fall!!  This 3 month-long heat wave has got to stop!  And no, I don’t count a few days in a row of 70 degrees as fall.  Especially not when it immediately warms back up to the 80’s (or 90’s, like it was on Sunday).

Dear Lord, please give Los Angeles the season of Autumn.  Amen.

Another reason I’d like it to cool down?  Because using a Saturday to stay inside, bundle up on the couch, and marathon season 3 of Deadwood just isn’t as appealing when it’s hot and sunny outside.  Who am I kidding, it’s still appealing because I’m always up for TV marathons.  What I meant to say was, it’s not as acceptable when it’s hot and sunny outside.  I worry about what people think, y’all.  I don’t want my roomies judging me for Deadwood-a-thons in the middle of Octo-summer.

Regardless, I have still managed to keep up with most of the past week’s shows, and I’ve got some pretty awesome tunes for you to check out.  If you’re on the east coast and still have power, they’re all good for some rainy/hurricaney day listening.  And if you’re anywhere else, they’re good in any weather condition, really. 🙂

Tuesday, October 23rd

PARENTHOOD: “I Need You By My Side” by Michael Kiwanuka (from his I’m Getting Ready EP)

PARENTHOOD: “Dark Parts” and “Sister Song” by Perfume Genius (both from Put Your Back N 2 It)

PARENTHOOD: “Guiltfree” by Bootstraps (from their self-titled debut album)

PRETTY LITTLE LIARS: “Who Are You, Really?” by Mikky Ekko (from the EP Reds)

Thursday, October 25th

GREY’S ANATOMY: “Home” by Daughter (from their EP The Wild Youth)

GREY’S ANATOMY: “I’ll Never Forget You” by Birdy (from her self-titled debut album)

GREY’S ANATOMY: “Forever Drunk” by Miss Li (from her album Beats & Bruises)

THE VAMPIRE DIARIES: “Too Close” by Alex Clare (from his debut album The Lateness Of The Hour)

THE VAMPIRE DIARIES: “Keep You” by Wild Belle (from their self-titled sophomore EP)

THE VAMPIRE DIARIES: “Ho Hey” by The Lumineers (from their self-titled debut album)

Sunday, October 28th

THE GOOD WIFE: “Folk Bloodbath” by Josh Ritter (from his album So Runs The World Away)

REVENGE: “For You” by Angus and Julia Stone (from their album Down The Way)

xx Hannah

Leave a Reply

