Design Spotlight: Emily Henderson

I know it’s been all music, music, music with me since the blog started, but I really do have other interests.  Promise.

To prove it, I’m sharing some STUNNING work from my absolute favorite, never-gonna-love-any-designer-as-much-as-I-love-her interior designer, Emily Henderson.  She won season 5 of HGTV’s Design Star and now hosts her own show on HGTV called Secrets From A Stylist.  Added bonus: she’s from Oregon!  Yeah home state pride!

Here are a few of my favorite rooms from her design portfolio:

This has got to be one of my all-time favorite living rooms. I mean, look at that tufted beauty of a couch! That coffee table! Those colors!

I love Emily’s use of purple in this space, and her unexpected use of wood for the pelmet boxes (those awesome boxes hiding the curtain rods).

I mean. That staircase. No words.

Love the combination of turquoise walls with the red in the curtains and the rug. And that leather ottoman is SO gorgeous.

So many things to gush about in this room! The bold green paint that only goes 2/3 up the wall… the chairs at the foot of the bed… the beautiful pink headboard which lends a bit of old world glamour… and of course the gold bull head above the bed! If it were up to me, I’d put various animal heads in every room of my house (I currently have a cardboard bull head in my bedroom).

I am a huge fan of cowhide rugs and how they instantly make a space feel more homey/warm/inviting/polished/beautiful. Pair one with a stunning dark blue sofa and fun red cross art, and I never want to leave. As Liz Lemon would say, “I want to go to there.”

As if the spaces above aren’t beautiful enough, there are hundreds more photos available for your perusal/inspiration on Emily’s website.  Everything above was pulled directly from her portfolio.  She also keeps a blog on the site, which is super funny and informative and full of design and DIY tips and pictures from her life (looks like she has a gold bull head of her own!).  It’s a fun read, and I dare anyone not to love her after checking it out.

On a completely unrelated note, I hope everyone on the east coast is staying warm and dry, and my prayers are with everyone affected by Superstorm Sandy.  I may not love the constant heat in Los Angeles, but at the end of the day, I know how lucky I am to still have a home to go back to every night.  Stay safe, NY!

xx Hannah

Leave a Reply

