Oscar Predictions 2013

It’s that fabulous time of year again! The time where we reward actors and actresses again and again for doing their jobs by handing out tiny, gold naked statues. I realize awards shows are slightly ridiculous (as if their insane paychecks weren’t enough of a ‘thank you’) BUT I DON’T CARE BECAUSE I LOVE THEM! I love mercilessly judging the dresses as they go down the red carpet. I love cringing at all of the awkward moments that occur in those three hours because let’s face it- most actors are cuh-razy pants and it’s amazing to watch.

DOES ANYONE REMEMBER THIS? COME OOON.

This one is from the Golden Globes a few years ago, but it is still one of my favorite things to watch. Ever.

Now, I don’t want to brag here, but I am KIND OF good at predicting these winners. I mean, I’ve won things (small prizes like Starbucks gifts cards and an assortment of libations but STILL). So, I decided to let you in on my predictions for this years awards show.

Here’s a nice little printable ballot we will be using: Oscar 2013 Ballot

Best Picture: Lincoln OR Argo. I am torn… I will have to go with my gut the night of.

ImageImage

Best Director: Steven Spielberg- poor Ben. Robbed.

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence- this one is a toughy. Some people say Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty) has it in the bag. Others, Emmanuelle Riva (Amour). All of these ladies were amazing- but I am going off of the SAG Awards and Golden Globes on this one.

Image

Best Actor: Come on. Daniel Day-Lewis. Every. Time.

Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway

Supporting Actor: Tommy Lee Jones

Animated Film: Brave

Foreign Film: Amour

Original Screenplay: Zero Dark Thirty

Adapted Screenplay: Lincoln? Shot in the dark here…

Costumes: Anna Kerenina

Original Song: Skyfall

Score: Lincoln because it’s John Williams?

Documentary: Searching for Sugarman

Documentary (short): Open Heart

Makeup/Hair: The Hobbit

Production Design: Les Miserables

Editing: Argo

Cinematography: Life of Pi

Sound editing: Zero Dark Thirty

Sound mixing: Les Miserables

Visual Effects: Life of Pi

Short Film (Animated): Paperman

Short Film (Live Action): Curfew

There you have it! I hope I don’t lead you astray here. Good luck!

-ashley

Also- watch Part 2 of the “Between Two Ferns: Oscar Edition”. It’s funny.

“Zero Dark Thirty. Is that a movie about Chris Brown?” Amazing.

Between Two Ferns: Oscars 2013

Leave a comment